May 16, 2021

Lawes ends Marcus’ undefeated streak as road race club champs are crowned

Lawes has taken the biggest scalp of the season as he rose to the challenge laid out to him by Zach Ryan. 

Local A Grader Zach Ryan put the challenge forward to Ben Lawes via an entry boss ‘entry remark’ that if Lawes did not win he would need to find a new club. Needless to say it appeared Ryan was not optimistic of Lawes’ chances, perhaps hoping for one less rider to worry about at next week’s club champs criterium.

As if riding for the club championship wasn’t motivation enough to win, Lawes was also riding for his membership. Whether this was known to Lawes is unclear however he managed to put the rest of A Grade to the sword as he rode away with Shane Marcus, who was undefeated so far in his 2021 road season campaign. The pair came to a two-up sprint with Lawes taking the win. Marvin Baumeister Schoenian and Kelvin Robertson held in but ultimately succumbed to the pressure applied by Lawes and Marcus. Baumeister Schoenian rounded out the podium. 

Kobe Ormes was crowned the road race club champion of B Grade ahead of his break away counterpart Mark O’Callaghan. Third place was awarded to Stephen Lane who won the bunch sprint finish, proving those Douglas Oceanias sessions’ worth.  

Ormes could not have been any more proud of himself, “This is probably the best thing to have happened to me since I found I’d been given 25 McNuggets when I had ordered a 24 pack!” Exclaimed the 16 year old. 

A field of 20 riders took to the start line for C Grade, the largest group for the day. Attacks were launched and break aways were reeled in as the highly animated race had spectators on the edge of their camping chairs.

It came down to an exciting bunch sprint finish as Jack Pemberton was victorious as he out-sprinted the in-form Kyle ‘the gun-show’ Gibbs. The podium was rounded out by Bill Weston in third place. 

C Grade also had a contingent of C Grade Women competing in the six lap event, crowning Amanda Doolan as the road race club champion. The better half of the TCC Power Couple, Alicia Harris took the podium in second place as Meredith Watkins finished in third place. 

Another giant was slain in D Grade as Tim Rademaker got the better of Gary O’Neill and Jon Kerswell. O’Neill will be out with vengeance in next week’s criterium.

Club champs sponsor, Lindy Sampson was crowned D Grade Women road race club champion ahead of Katey Seaborn, with both ladies putting in almighty efforts.

The Div 1 Juniors took to the great Oakvalleyburg three times, awarding Henry Goodwill and Nicholas Ellis first and second Div 1 boys respectively, and Sienna Monteith, Mikayla Gibbs and Emily Watch finishing first, second and third Div 1 girls. 

The Div 2 Juniors conquered the climb once with Hannah Watch finishing ahead of Jye Smith. 

Thanks to everyone who raced today and thank you to Cycle de Vie for sponsoring the club championships! 

Next week is the Criterium Club Championships at Reid Park, if you haven’t registered yet, register here!