May 31, 2021

ITT Champs brings C Grade Overall to a thrilling conclusion as TCC crowns Overall Club Champions

The Gun-show’s absence from the ITT left the C Grade Overall wide open as James Clements storms onto the podium after an impressive time out at the Dam Busters.

James Clements got the better of Jason Smith by 8 seconds to claim the C Grade ITT gold medal with Bill Weston rounding out the podium in third place.  

Heading into the ITT, Gibbs was leading C Grade as overall champion on eight points. By the end of the ITT, Weston and Clements had accrued 5 points across the three races, and were awarded their three additional points for participating in all three disciplines.

This left C Grade’s Overall in a jaw-dropping three-way tie! The final placings were determined by countback to the Oak Valley Road race, ultimately awarding Kyle ‘the gun-show’ Gibbs the overall championship ahead of Bill Weston and James Clements.

The arrival of Clements as a time trial specialist may now have him revelling in the opportunity to be the first wearer of the GC jersey for this year’s Tiny Mountain Brewery Tour of the North. The shorter prologue course may suit him even better.

Fastest time of the day belonged to Ben Lawes in an eye watering 15min 25sec to outshine his two A Grade competitors Marvin Baumeister-Schoenian and Callum McDonald who finished second and third respectively.

It wasn’t to be all smooth sailing for Lawes however after bolt fatigue had caused his arm rest to break off. Fortunately, the ski stayed on and Lawes kept on top of his machine, riding his way to not only ITT Gold, but overall gold, going three-wins straight to claim all disciplines; our undisputed A Grade champion. Baumeister-Schoenian and McDonald rounded out the overall podium.

Anthony Mills made his appearance to show the club why he’s a world champion in the pursuit, dusting off his competition in a blistering time of 16 minutes flat! Jack Pemberton continued his rise through the podiums, going one better than last week’s criterium to claim second ahead of visiting rider Hamish Wright in third.

Pemberton’s rapid success in B Grade shot him to second overall in the B Grade Overall standings ahead of Mark O’Callaghan who was awarded the bronze medal after tying on points with Stephen Lane; which was once again decided by countback to the Oak Valley Road Race. The overall B Grade men champion, Kobe Ormes, had some interesting words on his achievement.

“I could go as far again to say that this is the next best thing to have happened to me, but Dad (Simon) took me out to the reef the other day and I caught a Marlin on a 5lb line! So, that must take the cake in terms of best things to happen to me. This is a close second.”

Stephanie Corset was crowned B Grade Women ITT champion ahead of Briana McDonald and sister Caitlin Corset who finished second and third respectively.

Amanda Doolan went undefeated amongst the C Grade women winning the ITT and the overall championship along with it. Club President Alicia Harris crossed the line in second place and solidified her spot second overall ahead of Meredith Watkins.

The Father of Power, Jon Kerswell, demonstrated his time trial prowess, monstering home as D Grade Men ITT Champion ahead of Gary O’Neill and Tim Rademaker who finished second and third respectively.

However, it wasn’t enough to deny Rademaker the overall championship, narrowly edging out local legend Gary O’Neill and the father of power Kerswell.

Katey Seaborn was finally rewarded for her consistency with a gold medal in the ITT in the D Grade Women category ahead of Lindy Sampson, Kat Gorey and Vicki Ockenden.

Similar to the D Grade Men, it wasn’t enough to topple Sampson from the top of the overall standings, as she was crowned our overall champion ahead of Seaborn. Kat Gorey put in an astounding effort over the course of the championships and finished third overall.  

Local Olympic hopeful, Sienna Monteith, went three from three in the club championships, defeating Imogen Kerswell who snuck onto the podium in second place amongst the Div 1 Junior girls. Mikayla Gibbs rounded out the ITT podium in third.

Monteith was eventually awarded the overall title ahead of Gibbs who was only one point clear of bronze medallist Emily Watch.

Henry Goodwill and Hannah Watch joined the select group of undefeated after winning all rounds of Div 1 Junior boys and Div 2 juniors respectively. Their fellow combatants, Nicholas Ellis and Jye Smith put up valiant efforts unfortunately to no prevail, however keep an eye as they peak for key event of the year, the Bike Fix Len Orrow Junior Tour.  

The club would like to extend congratulations to everyone who competed over the three rounds, regardless of finishing place. Participation continues to grow, and we were fortunate to be joined by Come and Try riders at our recent ITT.

The club allowed for any bikes, regardless of UCI legality to ride, to ensure maximum inclusivity and participation by all.

We now look forward to the Webb Drive criterium on 20 June as a prelude for our Senior and Junior Tours on 26-27 June.